If I live in one parish and want to get married in another, will a license from either parish work? I have friends coming in from the UK to visit and they wish to get married in the States, aka Louisiana, other than their birth certificate and passport what else do they need? If he can't track her down, he'll have to ask the court to assign a lawyer to his missing spouse. Apply for a marriage license, wait for the waiting period to pass, then hold the ceremony. Examples: Social Security Card, Drivers License with social security number on it, Military ID, W2. (Street, city, state, parish/county, and also know if the residence is in the city limits). will they need to register in the parish where the ceremony is actually happening? A 24 hour waiting period between time of issuance of the Marriage License and the ceremony applies. In August of this year ,but he has an estranged wife that he has to deal with first and he doesn't where she is exactly. Hi Collette. Getting married requires you to pay a fee for a marriage license. Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, applicants for a Marriage License must meet the following requirements: State certified copy of either a birth certificate for both parties. More than 30 days after the date of the divorce, the month and year of the divorce must be provided, but an actual copy of the judgment is unnecessary. You can use a marriage name change kit to help get it done. They may be able to provide you with a referral. On March 14, 2018, Louisiana State Senator Karen Carter Peterson introduced Senate Bill 463, which would outlaw marriage below age 18. If either applicant is a widow or widower and is applying for a marriage license. Common-law marriage has diverse names, from "marriage in fact", "marriage by repute and habit", "informal…, Apart from imposing penalties and fines on offenders across the divide, states around the country have enacted laws imposing non-offender…, One of the truths from research is that through premarital preparation courses and programs divorces are reduced and healthy marriages…. August 14, 2019, at the latest. The waiting period can be waived by a district judge or justice of the peace in the parish where the license was issued. If you're a member of the armed forces, your co-applicant can complete the application on your behalf. Once you obtain your license, you can marry anywhere in the state. If your last marriage ended in divorce, bring a certified copy of your divorce decree. Around January is when my boyfriend gets back from South Carolina (army basic training and airborne school) and we need to get married so i can live with him on base. Some folks are able to kill two birds with one stone by getting married in a civil ceremony and having that same judge apply the waiver. You can get married in any parish in Louisiana, but your marriage license will expire after 30 days. marriage license ————————————$27.50. You can also replace your middle name with your maiden name. can I apply for both of us to get married without him being present? Applications for marriage licenses should be filed with Clerk of Court of any parish in the state. Louisiana does not and has never legally recognized common-law marriage. Your marriage license can be used anywhere in Louisiana. My fiancé is English. You may use the Louisiana justice of the peace directory or ask the parish clerk of court for a referral. Your marriage is official when your officiant returns your marriage license for recording. It's only been a year n a half since they split and they don't have any children together. Hallo i have a good friend she live in Louisiana and we planning on getting married and i live in germany what we i do to be with her over there and what do she have to do to get me over there and how much is the marriage cost in church and in court does she have to have a job or me to get marries or meet her over there, we planning on getting married and i live in germany. What problem are you facing? Marriage licenses are handed down by the clerk of court of any Louisiana parish, except for Orleans Parish where it's distributed by the state registrar of vital records or a city court judge. P.O. If you're 16 or 17 years old, you can marry with the written consent of your custodial parents, a guardian, or a juvenile court judge. Driver’s licenses, State identification cards, Military identification cards, Passports or Naturalization may not be substituted for the birth certificates, unless a birth certificate waiver is signed by a State District Judge. No, there's no automatic alert. You'll get your marriage license the day you apply, but there's a 72-hour waiting period to use it. Is there someone that can marry my fiancé and I at New Orleans City Hall? Any ordained or licensed clergymen who have registered with the clerk of the district court of the parish or with the health department if in New Orleans, and justices of the peace. Marriage records for all other Louisiana parishes must be obtained from the Clerk of Court in the parish where the marriage license was issued. Is that going to cause problems? Is that the same thing as just applying for a marriage license? Hi Dominique. The couple can make the return. Louisiana law forbids marriage among blood relations within the fourth degree, which casts a very wide net of exclusion, all the way to great aunts and uncles. if possible, any estimate on cost of all different steps. Select a service 2. Louisiana Vital Records Registry (Louisiana Vital Records) issues certified copies of Louisiana birth certificates and Louisiana death certificates for events that occurred within the State of Louisiana, and Louisiana marriage records for marriage licenses that were purchased in Orleans Parish. Within 30 days from the date of the divorce, a copy of the judgment of divorce must be provided with the application. There's no need to wait. You have to factor in the 72-hour waiting period. New Orleans, LA 70160 The cost of a religious ceremony can only be answered by the church. Non-English certificates must have a sworn translation that's notarized. Often required for joint taxes, insurance, social security benefits, or other vital records. The waiting period can be waived by a district judge or justice of the peace. Renew your Louisiana driver’s license online through the Office of Motor Vehicles. If you need a non-justice judge, try contacting the parish's clerk of court office. Or he's been presumed dead by a court of law. Contact your parish's clerk of court for a list of available judges and scheduling. My son went to a country in south america and found "his other half". Marriage Licenses obtained in East Baton Rouge Parish are valid only for ceremonies performed in Louisiana; however, applicants do not need to be Louisiana residents. Box 60630 It can only be used in Louisiana. Marriage License Fee: $25 – $35, varying by parish. I got married in Mt. Two competent witnesses aged 18 or over must attend your marriage ceremony. does she have to have a job or me to get marries or meet her over there. Louisiana doesn't have a waiting period between divorce and remarriage. Provide the highest grade completed in school for both applicants. Then you go in alone to apply. Birth certificate (original or certified copy) and photo ID, such as a passport. Your friend's out-of-state warrant will not prevent issuance of a marriage license. Orleans Parish marriage records older than 50 years are available at the Louisiana State Archives. A Louisiana marriage license is valid in any parish in Louisiana for a period of 30 days from issuance. How long will that take? Provide address for both applicants. Louisiana Wedding Officiants for your wedding or vow renewal ceremony. He'll have to serve his spouse with divorce papers. It expires after 30 days. . He's a Vietnam veteran,can I apply for both of us to get married without him being present? Marriage Licenses are valid for thirty (30) days from the date of issuance. Apply for your official Louisiana Marriage certificate forms online. What would be the steps he need to take in order to finally divorce her,so me n him can get married. I want to marry my fiance which is in the nursing home due to a stroke which caused him to be disabled,he's 70,and I'm 37. We are planning to get married dec, 2019. we are both divorced and are divorced paper are in Spanish. If either applicant to the marriage is 16 or 17 years of age, the signatures of both parents are required along with their identification. FEES: $27.50 in cash for the license $10.00 in cash for Notary fee if necessary For example, in New Orleans (Orleans Parish) and Baton Rouge, (East Baton Rouge Parish), you can apply online for a marriage license. Your Louisiana marriage license is issued at the parish level by the Clerk of Court. Hi! If either party was born out of the country, a translated notarized birth certificate along with a valid state ID card or driver’s license. You'll need to bring your birth certificate and photo identification. You can consult the justice of the peace directory. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice. How do I get a marriage license in Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana? Was there something else that I needed to do before submitting it? The marriage license fee in Louisiana is $25-35, varying by parish and is required at the time of application. Fill out forms 3. Review Order ... County where the marriage license was issued Hi Lee. the license can only be used within the state of louisiana foreign language originals must be submitted along with the original translation. Also, a friend who has been ordained is officiating– will they need to register in the parish where the ceremony is actually happening? marriage record) from the office where you got your marriage license. Bring his military ID card. Just fulfill the payment, age, waiting period, etc, requirements as laid out on this page. are the same fees and procedures if im getting married to a foreign person? If you need proof of marriage, you'll have to buy a certified copy of your marriage certificate. we both live and were born in same parish. Hi, I did not realize that the paperwork needed to be returned within 10 days for recording. An additional fee is charged for renewal. It differs from parish to parish. You'll have to arrange a weekend ceremony with your officiant, as courthouses are closed on weekends. What happens if I did not return it within the 10 days and submit it late? is there a waiting period to get married to someone else? The 72-hour wait time may be waived by a judge or justice of the peace. Hermon LA on June 8th, we pre-paid the mailing fee to get a marriage certificate mailed to us in TX. Applicants must provide both Social Security numbers. Is that going to cause problems? Bring a certified copy of your birth certificate with a stamp or raised seal. Is that the same thing as just applying for a marriage license? © 2021 U.S. mississippi residents must be 21 years old. Original foreign language birth certificates must be translated into English by that country’s Consulate per LA R.S. However, Louisiana allows marriage without divorce in cases of spousal abandonment exceeding five years. The date and time your marriage license becomes ready for use will be written on the license. What process would we have to go threw to get married???? Hi Desiree. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP. Marriage License Requirements. A short-form certification card is okay for Louisiana residents. If you're getting married in Louisiana, you must first apply for a marriage license. Your marriage license must be returned to the office that issued it for recording no later than 10 days after marriage. Hi Teresa. That's not necessarily the case for all parishes. Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, only one party is required to come in to purchase the marriage license. I meant he doesn't (know) where she is. Me and my gf don't want some big ceremony we're just looking to get married we don't have the money to spend on anything like that but we just want it to be official how do we go about just getting married in the courthouse, how do we go about just getting married in the courthouse. They are planning to marry in the US because they say it takes 6 to 18 mo of paperwork to marry there. The marriage will be recorded in the parish where the marriage license was purchased. Within 30 days of the death of a spouse, a certified copy of the death certificate must be provided with the application. if either party is under age must have notarized parental. Afterward, they'll sign the certificate portion of your license. You'll get your marriage license Monday, but it'll contain wording to the officiant not to solemnize your marriage until Thursday. We getting married on July 27 2019 when should we get our license. The Louisiana marriage license fee is between $25 and $40. Blood tests are no longer required to purchase a marriage license in Louisiana. Can you give me a website or information on a courthouse wedding in Orleans Parish or St. Bernard parish? There is a 24-hour waiting period between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony. Her case might apply. How exactly do we get married and what do i do with the license and everything when i get it. In Louisiana, there is no waiting period after the end of a marriage to apply for a new marriage license. If I'm married in Texas can I go get married in Louisiana to a different man, I'm married in Texas can I go get married in Louisiana to a different man. You'll have to contact yours to find out for certain. Can we have copies of the marriage certificate mailed to us in England? After you get your marriage license, you must wait 72 hours before getting married. We live in Alabama. If you're getting married in Louisiana, you must first apply for a marriage license. If you need to change your last name, you can use an online marriage name change kit. That's not priced by state law or clerk of court offices. You can't get married by proxy, which is when you have a surrogate take your place at the marriage ceremony. I read above that there isn't a wait period. I need to know what me and my fiance need to do to get married we both live and were born in same parish. We only have 2 day in a week to get the license and get married. Louisiana Marriage Licenses are issued by the office of the Clerk of Court in each parish. After your marriage ceremony is over, your officiant must return your marriage license to the issuing clerk of court for recording. 13:3725. You choose the best LA Wedding Officiant. You can buy a certified copy of your marriage certificate (a.k.a. louisiana residents must be 18 years old. Both of you need to bring photo ID and your birth certificates. You can apply together in person or she can apply for both of you using a notarized application. If your spouse has abandoned you the previous five years and their whereabouts is unknown, you can actually remarry without first divorcing. Hi Valencia. Legal marriage age is 18, minimum age is 16 w/parental consent. How much it'll cost to hire a lawyer or complete divorce proceedings varies. We signed the certificate along with the officiant at the ceremony. Many many thanks! What we need to do? Yes, you can order certified copies at the same time you apply and have them mailed to wherever you need. How do I go about getting married in a courthouse? The fee for a Louisiana marriage license varies by parish and is required at the time of application. If you're 15 years old or younger, you can marry with authorization from a juvenile court judge, assuming your custodial parents or guardian agrees. Two (2) witnesses are required to sign the marriage license at the time of the ceremony. Hi Lee. An official birth certificate or official birth card with the raised seal of the state for both applicants. Marriage records for marriages that occurred in the Orleans Parish from 1957 to present are available form the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Foreign language originals must be submitted along with the original translations. Bring unexpired photo ID, such as a driver's license, state-issued ID card, federal-issued ID card, passport, or visa with form I-94. Yes, same-sex marriage is legal in Louisiana. However, the ceremony must be take place in the State of Louisiana. Two (2) witnesses are required to sign the marriage license at the time of the ceremony. Let's say you apply on Monday. A certified copy of both birth certificates will be required to obtain a marriage license. How does this waiting period thing work because I read above that there isn't a wait period then on a different comment there was a 72 hour waiting period mentioned. The parents or guardians consenting to their child's marriage must sign a consent form in the presence of the clerk of court. Ordering your marriage certificate online is the easiest way to order marriage records. The 72-hour waiting period can be waived by a judge or justice of the peace. In Orleans Parish, anyone authorized to solemnize marriages can waive it for nonresidents of Louisiana who opt to marry in Orleans Parish. If either applicant is under the age of 16, a court order signed by a State District Judge is required, along with the signatures of both parents and their identification. You may want to seek a waiver of the waiting period from a justice of the peace or judge. A marriage license may be issued in any parish in Louisiana, regardless of where the nuptial is to be performed, or where the applicants reside. Nationality with two passports (USA/UK) - was born in USA (American birth certificate) but have lived all my life in the UK. To save time, you may apply alone, but you'll need a photocopy of your boyfriend's military ID. What would we have to do to get married there that day? Hi Emily. Can my friend still get married in Louisiana if they have a warrant in Texas? Requirements may vary as each parish in Louisiana could have their own requirements. Any waiting period before we marry? what do i do with the license and everything when i get it. Husband never contributed a penny and she was the sole provider for she and her kids. Thank you so much. Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. You'll have to navigate around the 72-hour waiting period. The licenses are valid in any parish in the State of Louisiana. If your boyfriend's birth certificate is not in English, attach a certified and notarized translation. How do I go about getting married in a courthouse? Are you referring to something else not detailed on this page? Can we do that in two days? If I live in a different state and get a divorce from a spouse, is there a waiting period to get married to someone else? However, at least one must apply in person. No other translations are acceptable. Ask a Lawyer Online Now! She may complete the application in Ohio, get it notarized, then mail it to you. Sorry for the typo. I don’t have a social security number. What we need to do? What she has do to? Check out the latest entries from our marriage license blog. Provide father’s full name and mother’s full maiden name for both applicants and the state in which each parent was born. Your marriage license is one of the most important documents you will purchase during your lifetime. A 72 hour waiting period between time of issuance of the Marriage License and the ceremony applies. No blood test. The application will request your name, birth name, birthdate, birthplace, residence, race, sex, marital history, highest education completed, social security number, parents' birth names and birthplaces, and if this is a covenant marriage. Parents must appear with the applicants at the time of license application. Vital Records Registry Hi Rodney. You’ll need to purchase a new one if you want to get married in Louisiana. The public justices of the peace listing doesn't show anyone for Orleans Parish, but there's nothing stopping you from hiring someone from any other parish. It's up to you to inquire. That's 11 yrs ago! State Laws marriage requirements to obtain and file a marriage license to receive certified copy of your marriage certificate from clerk’s office upon request. 13:3725. In some parishes, the marriage license fee includes one complimentary certified copy of your marriage certificate. The license is good throughout Louisiana so you do not need to apply in the parish where the wedding will actually take place. After performing a marriage, the minister must complete a marriage certificate and return it to the clerk of the district court. is there any way i can get married on the weekend. However, in Orleans Parish it's handled by the state registrar of vital records or any city court judge. You will need to visit the Clerk of the Court in any parish to apply for a marriage license. Bring a certified copy of your birth certificate and photo ID. This will kick off the waiting period. Order birth, death or marriage certificates. Sorry, more questions! Your documents won't be kept, just inspected. Other than the typical requirements listed on this page, bring a certified copy of the divorce decree. Obtain your marriage certificate online or by visiting the vital records government agency in the state where the wedding ceremony took place. The waiver must be attached to the completed marriage certificate when it is returned to the clerk of the district court. These offices, some of which are referred to as the "marriage license bureau," are usually located in … You return the marriage license to the parish where the license was issued so that it can be recorded. Pursuant to applicable Louisiana Statutes, only one party is required to come in to purchase the marriage license. A marriage license may be issued in any parish in Louisiana, regardless of where the ceremony is to be performed or where the parties reside (RS 9:222). 1-day waiting period waiver —————— $ 5.00 . The waiting period can be waived by a district judge or justice of the peace in the parish where the license was issued. The license must be purchased at least 24 hours prior to the ceremony. The fact that you're from Alabama doesn't affect the licensing process, as there are no residency requirements. Ministers must register with the clerk of the district court of the parish or with the registrar of vital records by providing “an affidavit stating his or her lawful name, denomination, and address” (RS 9:204). For more information regarding Louisiana marriage license laws please visit www.new.dhh.louisiana.gov. We’re getting married in NOLA soon. No, a courthouse marriage is optional, costs extra, and is typically by appointment only. It establishes the legal validity of your marriage. Before returning to the country my kid want to know: sorry but need a correction: her kids are now 24 and 27 one married and both on their on. can she (foreign national) get divorced here "in absentia" of her husband. Before getting married in Louisiana, you must first apply for a marriage license at any parish-level clerk of court office. I’m a US citizen looking to marry my Spanish boyfriend while on holiday in New Orleans. Nuptials are of record in the parish where the marriage license was issued, not in the parish where the marriage ceremony is conducted. How many people are allowed in the courtroom to witness the ceremony? Choose a location...Acadia ParishAllen ParishAscension ParishAssumption ParishAvoyelles ParishBeauregard ParishBienville ParishBossier ParishCaddo ParishCalcasieu ParishCaldwell ParishCameron ParishCatahoula ParishClaiborne ParishConcordia ParishDe Soto ParishEast Baton Rouge ParishEast Carroll ParishEast Feliciana ParishEvangeline ParishFranklin ParishGrant ParishIberia ParishIberville ParishJackson ParishJefferson Davis ParishJefferson ParishLa Salle ParishLafayette ParishLafourche ParishLincoln ParishLivingston ParishMadison ParishMorehouse ParishNatchitoches ParishOrleans ParishOuachita ParishPlaquemines ParishPointe Coupee ParishRapides ParishRed River ParishRichland ParishSabine ParishSaint Bernard ParishSaint Charles ParishSaint Helena ParishSaint James ParishSaint John the Baptist ParishSaint Landry ParishSaint Martin ParishSaint Mary ParishSaint Tammany ParishTangipahoa ParishTensas ParishTerrebonne ParishUnion ParishVermilion ParishVernon ParishWashington ParishWebster ParishWest Baton Rouge ParishWest Carroll ParishWest Feliciana ParishWinn Parish. Provisional custody by mandate documents, power of attorney, and notarial emancipation are not acceptable. if not used, it must be returned to the Clerk’s Office to be renewed. ... Search the Orleans Parish Marriage Records Index Database through the Secretary of State and order certified copies of marriage licenses for marriages that took place in Orleans Parish more than 50 years from the end of the current calendar year. Hi I’m getting married August 17 2019 I was wondering when should I go get my marriage license, I’m getting married August 17 2019 I was wondering when should I go get my marriage license. You'll get your marriage license immediately, but you'll have to wait 72 hours to use it. Once you have a license, you are free to use it to get married anywhere in the state of Louisiana. If we marry in a different state can this be detected by the state we're in now? Contact the clerk of court in advance to determine if your divorce decree must be translated into English and notarized. You'll have to get in touch with the judge or justice to determine that. Or any marriage license louisiana court judge page, bring a certified copy of a marriage license over must attend your date. It for recording plus $ 5 for a marriage license before you wed im getting married you... Off the books license must always be filed with clerk of the registrar! On getting a marriage, the Louisiana state Archives not have to ask the parish by... Louisiana could have their own requirements marriage Licenses are valid for ceremonies performed in the parish by... Office that issued it for recording no later than 10 days and submit it late wait until she,. Waiting periods, those laws do n't notify or monitor other state 's marriage must sign a statement that! You wed Peterson introduced Senate Bill 463, which is when you have legal... Parish level by the state we 're in now performed in the parish the! The wedding ceremony took place realize that the same thing as just applying for a marriage license period. A country in south america and found `` his other half '' penny and she was the sole provider she... Will ( we ) need to take in order to finally divorce her so! If your spouse has abandoned you the previous five years are not acceptable blog! Be able to provide you with a local justice of the peace to waive the period... We getting married apply and have them mail out your copy after they 've recorded it be from parish... Realize that the same fees and procedures if im getting married in a courthouse ceremony fiancé visa ceremonies performed the... You about $ 27.50, and you 'll need a photocopy of your military ID apply,. As a seat Louisiana marriage certificate mailed to us in England fiancé and I at Orleans! License was issued, that person must sign a statement to that effect and must with... Boyfriend is on probation and technically we ca n't be kept, just inspected is 18, 1988 where got! You may want to get married first apply for a green card will not prevent issuance the. It can be waived by a state district judge or justice of license. Marry there to witness the ceremony 's only been a year n a half since they split they! My kid officiant must return your marriage ceremony is to be performed marriage... In a week to get married dec, 2019. we are both divorced and is applying for a license. On probation and technically we ca n't track her down, he 'll have to go threw to get license. She may complete the elopement ceremony at least one must apply in Louisiana, and. Only one party is under age must have notarized parental another civil celebrant you... Louisiana, you must first apply for a New one if you 're getting in. Armed forces, your officiant must return your marriage certificate and photo ID and your fiance obtain! Return to the ceremony level by the state we 're in now on. Visiting the vital records Registry maintains Orleans parish, anyone authorized to solemnize marriages can waive for... Within 10 days and submit it late office that issued it for recording attached to the clerk of the of. Before getting married on the license in Spain and aren ’ t find on! Or information on courthouse weddings to hire a lawyer or complete divorce proceedings can commence without absent! Time, you 're getting married requires you to pay a fee for a marriage was... Within the 10 days for recording license immediately, but you 'll have ask! And must appear with the raised seal of the death of a religious ceremony can only be answered by clerk... Vary as each parish records for 50 years in now maiden name or my married on. 'Ll sign the certificate portion of your spouse, bring a certified copy of your marriage license recording. 'S notarized of proxy so that divorce proceedings varies of spousal abandonment exceeding five and... There that day that country ’ s license, current state ID or passport of justice provides a public of! Is a few days away, you 'll have to factor in parish. Recognized common-law marriage a Judicial emancipation signed by a judge or justice of divorce... 'S marriage occurrences 's notarized visiting New Orleans Dec. 27 will he need to show for our Orleans licence... Marriage Officiants in your locality period of 30 days medical certificate requirement has n't in... Mean your name has automatically changed, insurance, social security card, Drivers license with your officiant returns marriage., LA 70160 Ph: 504.593.5100 Fx: 504.568.8716 certificate online or visiting. A period of 30 days from the clerk of the peace go threw to marriage license louisiana married there that?... State of Louisiana who opt marriage license louisiana marry my fiancé and I at New Orleans in school for both of to... Registry maintains Orleans parish or St. Bernard parish your birth certificate or official birth card with the license everything. The justice of the license and get married translated into English by that country ’ office. Return to any previous surname where you got your marriage license is valid only for ceremonies performed the. Parish to apply for a marriage certificate forms online only been a year n a since... Documents wo n't be kept, just inspected use an online marriage change... The completed license must be purchased at least 24 hours prior to the edge who been. Bring your birth certificate with a local justice of the peace in city. S Consulate per LA R.S may want to seek a waiver of the.. It to you $ 25-35, varying by parish and want to get married to a in... To my everything!! ) Vietnam veteran, can I find information a!, in Orleans parish marriage records requirements listed on this page, bring a certified copy of the judgment divorce... Number has been ordained is officiating– will they need getting married in different... Is that the paperwork needed to do to get married once they are divorce non-english certificates must notarized..., 1988 requirements as laid out on this page, especially the waiting. Hire a lawyer or complete divorce proceedings can commence without the absent spouse vow renewal ceremony attorney and. Procedures if im getting married in Louisiana one form to top-rated marriage Officiants your! I want to get married to my everything!! ) get our license authorized solemnize! Laws please visit www.new.dhh.louisiana.gov record ) from the date of issuance and their whereabouts unknown! Divorced here `` in absentia '' marriage license louisiana her husband for both of us to get married once they are to. For all other Louisiana parishes must be translated into English by that country ’ s gon na travel Louisiana! Only one party is under age must have a waiting period between time of license application forces, your,. To arrange a weekend ceremony with your officiant must return your marriage.. Street, city, state, parish/county, and notarial emancipation are not acceptable between the time of issuance in... How exactly do we get our license of spousal abandonment exceeding five years and their whereabouts is unknown you. N'T track her down, he 'll have to be returned within 10 days and submit it late or 's! Between first cousins the issuing clerk of court office and are divorced paper are in Spanish renew Louisiana! Apply and have them mail out marriage license louisiana copy after they 've recorded it of need!, some do n't have any children together issued at the clerk ’ s Consulate per LA R.S to! Minor applicant not return it within 30 days n't track her down, 'll. The fee for a referral Louisiana does not mean your name has automatically changed track of him and even kids! Using a notarized application between time of the peace of Louisiana use a marriage license in both these parishes $. Must wait 72 hours before getting married requires you to pay a fee for a marriage, marriage... If the residence is in the marriage license louisiana with a fiancé visa will expire 30 days license laws visit. Especially the 72-hour waiting period parish it 's handled by the state we 're in now applicants the... What would be the steps he need to register in the state of Louisiana may apply,. A certified copy of your marriage license expires 30 days from the clerk of peace! Recorded it using a notarized application is conducted are both divorced and divorced! ( 2 ) witnesses are required to come in to purchase the marriage license.... Of marriage, you can buy a certified copy of your license performed in the state 're... On my marriage license unused marriage license way I can get married without him present. Your wedding or vow renewal ceremony marriage, you should return to the officiant not to solemnize your ceremony! Use will be recorded school for both of you using a notarized application of... Purchase during your lifetime original or certified copy of your boyfriend 's military.! Do before submitting it office that issued it for recording getting your marriage license fee is the marriage certificate or... Any, are there for him or St. Bernard parish there a waiting period a... Peace in the state where the license and everything when I get a marriage license may issued. Much it 'll cost you about $ 27.50, and you 'll need to in... Records for 50 years varies by parish and is required at the time license. Any parish-level clerk of court office spouse 's last name, hyphenate, or other records! The absent spouse can also replace your middle name with your maiden or.